Long story on the DL renewal odyssey this week. I’ll spare you the full rundown, although it was instructive to experience such extreme contrasts in treatment w.r.t. a number of variables, especially in light of the different level of energy I brought Wed. vs. Thurs. And talk about a loaded question in a setting that’s bound to various legalities: “Do you lipread?” Reminder to self: Do not imply there’s an individual component to it… Stick to the environmental and situational factors. I realized belatedly that to simply say, “it depends on the speaker,” could be taken as an insult. Oops. I am so out of practice! (And little things can make a big difference, especially in incidental, everyday interactions. Man, the analysis goes in so many directions.)

So I’ve also uncovered yet another area in which preparatory online research failed to yield the info and forms necessary to render a process as simple as possible.

Anyhow, I just saw that the state’s changing the format of licenses next week. I will remain old school for several years, I presume.

And my photo looks like a mugshot.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that.

