The unit was not fully functional, so I’m not hooked-up yet. Next mid-week.

Not a total waste: I made a small shuffle forward on the communication access front — long, ongoing saga, but at least I’ve recovered my tactful cajones while in the midst of the situation. Major situational management efforts were required on my part, which is somewhat deplorable considering it’s the year 2007, and we’re well into the whole “patient’s/consumer’s rights” movement, not to mention the passage of the ADA over 25 years ago. I did succeed in negotiating a resolution. I’m a bit worn down at the moment to do greater consciousness-raising about specifics and generalities via blog. But it’s good to have the experiential breakthrough that gets beyond mere identification of the problem and contributing factors. Why merely complain, when one can work for change? I do need to treat this in a more systematic way, though. Naysayers close to me have dampened my former skills with these kind of exchanges, so I’m a bit rusty. (That is the deleterious effect of loss of autonomy that has biological origins. I do hope minds open more… I don’t have enough eyes to be a fly on the wall when it comes to discussions of my body, only picking up a random word here and there, while missing most of the context and counterpoints. That is, the keys to MEANING!)

I started this while waiting, before the appointment:
“My local neurologist moved his office to a new (recently built) office complex. You would think that in the year 2007, the new place would be more accessible than the old. You would be wrong. All 5+ patients that are here today, in the 20 minutes I’ve been in the waiting room, have obvious mobility limitations. Yet the doors are bulky, heavy, and too narrow for the two wheelchair and scooter users to pass through without appearing to be running through the American Gladiator gauntlet course. The cane users fared marginally better. It’s a double-door set-up, too, so just cumbersome, and without an automatic/motor-assisted option.”

