So my last weird episode was in early December.  I was supposed to follow-up the ER visit with my local neuro within two weeks. Oops! I don’t remember what all happened, but since I didn’t take a nose-dive and it seemed like the whole thing was an aberration due to a no-big-whoop head cold and possibly having missed a dose of my med, I ended up seeing how things went. (I do this a lot. I’ve documented it and written about it several times. I guess it’s part regression-to-the-mean, and part optimism.) Most gratefully, it worked well this time: my body seems to have re-regulated itself, and is certainly still on an upswing. (Confidently reinforced with a great book on neuroplasticity, deserving of its own post!)Ok, so as I was saying: When I called my doctor’s office via Cap-Tel to make the appointment, I had to spell my last name. Well, with the weakness in my facial nerves, my Ps and Bs are pretty weak. The advantages of Cap-Tel over traditional TTY/TDD relay and IP relay are many.
Speed, efficiency, personal connection, near-normal paced flow of conversation (seamless, invisible call assistant), recipient can hear me laugh, I can hear who I’m calling with my ABI while using captions to understand words…
The drawbacks are fewer but similar to other relays, with the slight delay for connections to be made and for voice to be converted to captions using Voice Recognition software.

Anyhow, I highly value using my voice as long as I have it, and I know callers catch on to Cap-Tel rapidly. I realized the nurse thought I was saying T, instead of P, and this post’s title is what came to my mind first to get it right. It worked. And I did get a chuckle. And I did get an appointment much sooner than I thought I’d get. Like I said, Cap-Tel rocks!

