It’s fitting enough that today is Leap Day. I appreciate leaping and going out on limbs. In many contexts, it’s grand and exposes us to more aspects of life, with the consequence of furthering understanding and compassion, assuming we’re receptively oriented. I don’t think I personally throw all caution to the wind, but I do tend to place possible outcomes in perspective, even while acknowledging the actual outcome is likely to differ greatly from anything I imagine. With a lot of things, the most immediate risk is maintaining face (easier when acting from a space of self-acceptance) and perhaps making someone else uncomfortable. I usually dwell much more on the possibility of the latter than the former. I don’t place inflated expectations or demands on others’ responses. The unpredictable contingencies of life are what make it worthwhile, when one is privileged by the dependable presence of basic food, shelter, and security.

