The long-running, and I’m sure, pretty common joke is to spell something out when (kids)/someone is in earshot rather than explicitly mentioning the topic. So while I was at my sister’s house yesterday and my BiL was sitting a few feet from her on the couch, I figured it would be tacky to mention Father’s Day, and coordinating plans, by name. So I started spelling it, just to be cute (and as an homage to another family member), and then it was funnier as I got beyond the third letter and attempts were made to piece it together.

I meant to tell my dad this story before he left for work today a few hours ago, but I forgot. It’s one that could be subtle in the telling, and therfore almost as funny as the moment it happened, but I’m lacking storytelling finesse at the moment.

Happy Dad’s Day all around! (And if you should have an aspiring athlete, she’ll always remember how cool it was to burn your hand with the power of her throws while playing catch. Although I’m kind of sorry he wasn’t joking like I usually suspected…)

