Yesterday wasn’t my first unassisted shower since March–that happened two days prior. Yesterday (cue music) was just the first standing and using the grab bar instead of my old tendency to use the wall as an intermittent touchstone/balance reference. I didn’t know if/when it would be possible, but just made the attempt when I felt ready and receptive to a positive outcome–even though I realize I need a chair or bench to clean my toes-and-in-between as well as I should!). I’m trying to do things on my own, but don’t read that as being set on such: I am in full favor of aids and assisted living arrangements (Mutual benefits–and I think the social aspectz are huge, yet largely neglected in policy considerations due to the difficulty of quantifying them in a standard way). As much as I enjoy and appreciate freedom of movement and “independence,”* I have learned through experience that conservation of energy can be key to productivity of many kinds–and go ahead and extend this to higher scales, but at the basic individual level, the benefits are readily apparent to me (as is the necessity of inputs and outputs to forestall anomie), while access is still largely obscurred, or at least inconsistent depending on age, location, and a number of social/cultural/biological/economic factors. So much for equality. I know, I know, it’s a process and takes time. In it to be part of it. Whatcha gonna do about it? Because this affects us all…

*Independence is merely a matter of degree/what is generally acknowledged to constitute it–back to the power to define the situation… Independence as a degree of interdependence resurfaces here–as does the denial that characterizes those who would deny dignity and respect to self or others for needing assistance.

