I just noticed today that I have almost full differentiation, once again, in feeling of my left pinkie and ring fingers. I’ll attribute this to everyday use, and occasional exercises. It’d be nice if I was back on my bari, but that’s not the actual case. Having these fingers with their distinctive identities does take me back to those golden keys/notes they made possible. Still working on strength, but my card shuffling skills improved in an interim hiatus of specific skills practice. (Thank you to Handy Manny Uno and Sorry! for the testing opps of my ops.) Still amazing the hand was clawed, so weakened, and out of order in 2009. For both my hands, I get a big kick out of opening jar lids, milk jugs, and so many other basics. Never underestimate the utility of our single-use eyedrop vials, or folding laundered wash cloths, for keeping our fingers in shape. Lost and regained. Oops–been meaning to blog Restasis and ameliorating dry eye issues.

A few more and new challenges have me experimenting in other areas, but I like navigating them before writing about them because this is a field of experiences–not some isolated problem. That’s how I approach this gig, anyhow: There are so many fulfilling and sustaining elements in the process of living (many taken for granted).If we center our attention only on what is not working or lacking, then we may miss that we are at a stage of recovery in what was formerly injured. This sort of longitudinal perspective is absolutely fascinating for folks with a central nervous system. (Yes, you!)

It is a true privilege to experience and survive, and encounter variations, and embrace the humilitude (word popped in my mind–because remember: fun is an attitude, and a life of awareness is humbling) of being.

